Please wait...

Media Release


India's U19 star Lomror leads Bulls to title under lights

The first-ever day-night multi-day final in the Rajasthan Cricket Association (RCA) inter-district Colvin Shield was a resounding success.

Played at the RCA Academy ground under lights with pink ball, the Nagaur came back in fine fashion to beat Bikaner by six wickets.

In a match with varying fortunes throughout in the end it was the youthful exhuberance of India's under-19 star Mahipal Lomror (70 n.o.: 109b, 9x4) that shone brightly under the lights.

Braving inclement weather Lomror led the way for Nagaur Bulls and battled conditions very well.

This was the first time that a pink ball had been used in a match in Rajasthan. As has been the case throughout the experiment with pink ball, bowlers had a field day as wickets fell at regular intervals during the four-day contest.

The matches started at 2.45 pm everyday during the final and attracted much interest throughout.

Bikaner Hawks batted first and were bowled out for 246, but then hit back to shoot out Nagaur Bulls for 189 thereby gaining a lead of 57 runs. But in the second innings, Hawks could not press home the advantage as they were bowled out in just 47.4 overs for 180.

In the end, Bulls batted sensibly after struggling at 39 for two at one stage. Nikhil Doru (39) and wicket-keeper Chetan Bist (47) added 63 runs for the third wicket. Thereafter, it was a Lomror show all the way. Lomror showed how much he has gained by training under legendary former Indian captain Rahul Dravid.

Lomror held his nerves brilliantly as he added 127 runs for the fifth wicket with Vijay Meena (50 n.o.: 96b, 5x4).

Lomror's effort earned him the Man of the match award.


Brief Scores

Bikaner Hawks 246 in 73.1 overs & 180 in 47.4 overs lost to Nagaur Bulls 189 in 59.3 overs & 238-4 in 66.4 overs (Mahipal Lomror 70 n.o., Vijay Meena 50 n.o., Chetan Bist 47, Nikhil Doru 39; Kanhaya Swami 2-26)-by six wickets


Other Prizes

Man of final: Mahipal Lomror
Man of the Series: Rajesh Bishnoi Junior
Best bowler: Gajendra Singh
Best batsman: Ashok Budhania

Made with ♥ by HEPTA